Skip to content

For People with IPF: Living a Full Life at Any Stage of IPF

There is no formal staging system for IPF. However, thinking of IPF in four stages can help people with IPF prioritize their needs and keep them from feeling overwhelmed. 

Although education regarding a variety of topics can occur at any time, the stages may help patients and their caregiver focus on what is needed and what to expect as time goes by.

The Four Stages of IPF

  • Stage 1: Recently diagnosed

  • Stage 2Needing oxygen with activity, but not at rest

  • Stage 3: Needing oxygen 24 hours a day, with activity, at rest and during sleep

  • Stage 4Advanced oxygen needs (needing high-flow oxygen or when a lightweight, portable delivery system is unable to meet a patient’s needs).

For more than 100 years, National Jewish Health has been committed to finding new treatments and cures for diseases. Search our clinical trials.