Office of Professional Education

National Jewish Health Announces Research Award Winners at the 2019 Respiratory Disease Young Investigators' Forum

National Jewish Health announces research award winners at the 2019 Respiratory Disease Young Investigators' Forum National Jewish Health welcomed scientists from across the country to the 15th Annual Respiratory Disease Young Investigators’ Forum in Chicago, IL., on October 10-13, 2019. Junior faculty and physicians enrolled in a pediatric, pulmonary, allergy, or immunology fellowship program and conducting research on airway diseases were eligible for participation. Following expert faculty review of abstracts submitted earlier this year, 28 Fellows attended the forum.

Throughout the forum, participants presented abstracts in Basic Science Research or Clinical Research to a panel of expert faculty judges. In addition to their presentations, the forum provided an excellent opportunity for Fellows to network with faculty experts and peers conducting research in respiratory medicine. At the conclusion of the forum, the top three presenters in each category were awarded a grant to support their research. The award winners were announced during a banquet Saturday evening.

Awards in Basic Science Research

  • First Place –  Raghu Chivukula, MD, PhD, Massachusetts General Hospital, Inactivating mutations in NEK10 cause a human short cilia syndrome

  • Second Place – Jeremy Katzen, MD, University of Pennsylvania, Murine Modeling of Distinct Surfactant Protein-C (SFTPC) Mutation Classes Reveal Convergent Pathways from Alveolar Type 2 Cell Quality Control Dysfunction to Lung Fibrosis

  • Third Place tie – Tristan Kooistra MD, Massachusetts General Hospital, Airway basal stem cell Notch signaling coordinates immune cell localization

  • Third Place tie – Luisa Morales-Nebreda, MD, Northwestern University, Age Determines the Tissue Protective Function of Regulatory T cells during Influenza A Virus-induced Lung Injury


Awards in Clinical Research

  • First Place – William Bain, MD, University of Pittsburgh, Increased alternative complement pathway function is associated with reduced mortality in critically ill patients with acute respiratory failure

  • Second Place – Pavan Bhatraju, MD, MSc, University of Washington, Adults with cystic fibrosis and R117H-CFTR mutations exhibit higher angiopoietin-1 plasma concentrations, a marker of endothelial stability, after short-term ivacaftor treatment

  • Third Place tie – Wassim Labaki, MD, MS, University of Michigan, Health status impact on mortality and lung function decline in smokers with and without airflow obstruction: an analysis of the COPDGene cohort

  • Third Place tie – Annie Oh, MD, University of California San Francisco, Relationship Between Smoking History and CT Measures of Occult Lung Disease in Smokers With Preserved Spirometry in SPIROMICS

Committed to growing young scientists to become leaders in the research and treatment of respiratory diseases, National Jewish Health was excited to host the forum that was managed by the Office of Professional Education. The activity was supported by an educational grant from AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals LP.


Program Chairs

Jay Kolls, MD
Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics, John W Deming Endowed Chair in Internal Medicine, Director, Center for Translational Research in Infection and Inflammation, Tulane School of Medicine, New Orleans, LA

Janet Lee, MD 
Professor of Medicine, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, Pittsburgh, PA 


Expert Faculty and Research Advisors

Neil Aggarwal, MD
Chief, Lung Biology and Disease Branch, Division of Lung Diseases, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, NIH, Bethesda, MD

Rafeul Alam, MD, PhD
Professor and Chief, Division of Allergy & Immunology, Veda and Chauncey Ritter Chair in Immunology, Department of Medicine, National Jewish Health and University of Colorado Denver, Denver, CO

James Chmiel, MD, MPH
Professor of Pediatrics, Chief, Division of Pediatric Pulmonology, Allergy and Sleep Medicine, Indiana University School of Medicine, Riley Hospital for Children at Indiana University Health, Indianapolis, IN
Tushar Desai, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine, PCCM, Institute for Stem Cell Biology, Woods Family Endowed Faculty Scholar, Stanford Child Health Research Institute, Stanford University, Stanford, CA

Leila Kheirandish-Gozal, MD, MSc.
Professor and Director of Child Health Research Institute, Department of Child Health, University of Missouri School of Medicine, Columbia, MO

Barry J. Make, MD
Professor of Medicine, Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine, National Jewish Health, Denver, CO

Enid Rose Neptune, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine, Johns Hopkins Medicine, Baltimore, MD

Reynold A. Panettieri, Jr, MD
Professor of Medicine, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, Vice Chancellor, Clinical & Translational Science Director, Rutgers Institute for Translational Medicine & Science, Emeritus Professor of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania, New Brunswick, NJ

Lisa R. Young, MD
Chief, Division of Pulmonary Medicine, John M. Keating Endowed Chair in Pediatrics, President’s Scholar, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA

Mihaela Teodorescu, MD, MS
Associate Professor, Director, James B. Skatrud Pulmonary/Sleep Research Laboratory, William S. Middleton Memorial Veteran’s Hospital, Division of Allergy, Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine, Center for Sleep Medicine and Sleep Research/Wisconsin Sleep, University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health, Madison, WI


Presenting Faculty

Michael Alexander, MD
Northwestern University
Chicago, IL

Tristan Kooistra, MD
Massachusetts General Hospital 
Boston, MA

Kerri Aronson, MD
Weill Cornell Medical College
New York, NY

Wassim W. Labaki, MD, MS
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI

William Bain, MD 
University of Pittsburgh 
Pittsburgh, PA

Stephanie LaBedz, MD 
University of Illinois at Chicago 
Chicago, IL

Pavan K. Bhatraju, MD, MSc
University of Washington 
Seattle, WA

Kristina Montemayor, MD, MHS
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD

Christine M. Bojanowski, MD
Tulane University 
New Orleans, LA

Luisa Morales-Nebreda, MD
Northwestern University 
Chicago, IL

Raghu R. Chivukula, MD, PhD 
Massachusetts General Hospital
Boston, MA

Anita Oh, MD
University of California San Francisco
San Francisco, CA

Chinedu Ejike, MD, MPH
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD

Shravani Pasupneti, MD
Stanford University Medical Center
Palo Alto, CA

Anthony Esposito, MD 
Brigham and Women’s Hospital,
Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA

Lauren Roland, MD 
University of California San Francisco
San Francisco, CA

Andrew Gangemi, MD
Temple University 
Philadelphia, PA

Jason Sanders, MD
Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Boston, MA

Chao He, MD, PhD
University of Alabama at Birmingham 
Birmingham, AL

Aartik Sarma, MD
University of California San Francisco
San Francisco, CA

Benjamin Henkle, MD, MPH
University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN

Mark Snyder, MD 
University of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA

Arun Jose, MD
University of Cincinnati
Cincinnati, OH

Robert Stretch, MD
University of California Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA

Or Kalchiem-Dekel, MD 
National Institutes of Health 
Bethesda, MD

Eleanor Valenzi, MD
University of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA

Jeremy Katzen, MD
University of Pennsylvania
School of Medicine
Philadelphia, PA

Richard Wang, MD
University of California San Francisco
San Francisco, CA 

Get updates here on the 16th Annual Respiratory Disease Young Investigators' Forum that will be held in Denver, Colorado on October 8-10, 2020 with abstracts due in June 2020.