Interstitial Lung Disease (ILD): Types

Interstitial lung disease (ILD) is a broad category of lung diseases that includes more than 130 disorders characterized by scarring (i.e. "fibrosis") and/or inflammation of the lungs. Some of the disorders included under the heading of ILD are:

  • Idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis
  • Connective tissue or autoimmune disease-related pulmonary fibrosis
  • Hypersensitivity pneumonitis
  • Sarcoidosis
  • Eosinophilic granuloma (a.k.a. Langerhan's cell histiocytosis)
  • Chronic eosinophilic pneumonia (see hypereosinophilic syndromes)
  • Pulmonary vasculitis
  • Pulmonary hemorrhage syndromes
  • Bronchiolitis obliterans
  • Lymphangioleiomyomatosis  
  • Familial pulmonary fibrosis or familial interstitial pneumonia