Upcoming Dialogues 

Big Impact Idea: Prevention of Pediatric Allergies and Asthma

Tuesday, October 5, 2021
10:30 a.m. EDT | 9:30 a.m. CDT | 8:30 a.m. MDT | 7:30 a.m. PDT


Allergies impact the health of millions of children and adults. We are asking the question, what if we could find a way to prevent allergies? Dr. Zeitlin will discuss new theories and research towards preventing childhood allergies at National Jewish Health, as well as treatment developments in atopic dermatitis, food allergies and asthma.


Pamela L. Zeitlin, MD, MPhil, PhD
Chair of the Silverstein Department of Pediatrics

 

Occupational, Environmental and Deployment-Related Lung Diseases: Research and Treatment

Thursday, November 4, 2021
2 p.m. EDT | 1 p.m. CDT | Noon MDT | 11 a.m. PDT
 

From kitchen remodelers, to 9/11 first responders, to veterans of deployments to Iraq and Afghanistan, some occupations encounter greater risks to lung disease due to on-the-job exposures. Drs. Maier and Rose discuss major research on risk factors and the disabling chronic respiratory diseases that those in these occupations experience.


Lisa A. Maier, MD, MSPH
Chief, Division of Environmental & Occupational Health Sciences
Director, Division’s Core Clinical Lab
Professor, Department of Medicine
 


Cecile S. Rose, MD, MPH
Director, Center for Deployment-Related Lung Disease
Professor, Department of Medicine

 

Genetics and their Influence on Treatment and Prevention of Diseases

December, DATE TBD
 

How have research developments in genetics – the study of genes and heredity – and genomics –  the study of the entire gene sequence – improved our efforts to find cures and better treatments for disease? Dr. Fingerlin facilitates the ability of physicians and other scientists to answer this question by developing and conducting research with the aim of understanding the role of genomic and environmental influences on health and disease.


Tasha E. Fingerlin, PhD
Vice Chair and Professor, Department of Immunology and Genomic Medicine
Director, Center for Genes, Environment & Health
Director, Quantitative Genetics Program

 

Big Impact Idea: Repairing and Restoring Function to the Damaged Lung

Friday, February 4, 2022
10:30 a.m. EST | 9:30 a.m. CST | 8:30 a.m. MST | 7:30 a.m. PST

The damage from chronic lung disease can severely impact quality and duration of life. Remarkable advances made recently in medicine and technology have brought our goal of repairing and restoring function to a damaged lung within reach. Dr. Downey will discuss the path towards achieving this hugely impactful goal.


Gregory P. Downey, MD
Executive Vice President, Academic Affairs and Provost
Drs. Harold and Mary Zirin Chair, Adult Pulmonary Biology
Professor, Department of Medicine

 

NTM and Bronchiectasis: Research and Treatment Update

Friday, March 25, 2022
10:30 a.m. EDT | 9:30 a.m. CDT | 8:30 a.m. MDT | 7:30 a.m. PDT

Nontuberculous mycobacterial (NTM) infections, a non-contagious cousin of tuberculosis, has shown a marked increase in the U.S. population in recent years. Many NTM patients also develop bronchiectasis, a condition that inhibits the ability to naturally clear mucous and bacteria from the airways and puts individuals at ever-increasing risk of infection. Join Dr. Daley to learn about current and future NTM and bronchiectasis research and treatments.


Charles L. Daley, MD
Chief, Division of Mycobacterial & Respiratory Infections
Professor, Department of Medicine



Additional programs to be announced.

 

Have questions for the docs? Click below to submit a question.


Submit Questions  

Do you have family or friends that might be interested? Share the njhealth.org/docseries link.