Office of Professional Education

Epithelial Alarmins: A New Paradigm in Severe Asthma and Emerging Treatments

Join Us for a Free Live CME Webinar with Expert Faculty

Tuesday, May 24, 2022 • 5:00 pm to 6:00 pm (MST)

Begins at 4:00 pm (PST), 6:00 pm (CST), 7:00 pm (EST)

Register ►


Basic science and clinical research continue to fuel the development of new treatment possibilities for severe asthma, especially targeting the mediators of airway inflammation in asthma. Clinicians should be able to apply their knowledge of these advances as they strive to improve outcomes for individuals with severe asthma in their own practices. This program will explore the roles of epithelial alarmins including TSLP, IL-33 and IL-25 as upstream mediators of the asthma inflammatory response and airway hyperresponsiveness, and discuss implications for treatment selection in severe asthma.  

Target Audience:

This activity is intended for physicians, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants in pulmonology and allergy/immunology.

Program Faculty:

Eileen Wang, MD, MPH

Eileen Wang, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor
Division of Allergy & Clinical Immunology
Department of Medicine
National Jewish Health
Denver, CO

 
Michael E. Wechsler, MD, MMSc
Director, The Cohen Family Asthma Institute and Professor of Medicine
Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine
Department of Medicine
National Jewish Health
Denver, CO
 

Learning Objectives:

Upon completion of this activity, the participant will be better able to:

  • Describe the role of the respiratory epithelium in asthma development and progression. 
  • Define the epithelial alarmins and their impact on T2 and non-T2 airway inflammation, remodeling, and hyperresponsiveness in severe asthma
  • Evaluate the results of clinical trials of emerging therapies that target the epithelial alarmins in severe asthma
  • Match clinical characteristics and phenotypes to treatment targets
 

Contact:

For questions, please call the Office of Professional Education at National Jewish Health at 303.398.1000 or 800.844.2305, or email ProEd@njhealth.org.

Accreditation and Designation Statements:

National Jewish Health is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

Physicians: National Jewish Health designates this live activity for a maximum of 1.0 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

Support:

This educational activity is supported by an educational grant from AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals.